Annual Meeting Program

Annual Meeting Program

This is the latest program for the NAI 12th Annual Meeting. Check back regularly for the latest developments and updates.

Sunday, June 25th

5-6 pm- USPTO Tour and Cocktail Reception

Start the NAI Annual Meeting with a private tour of the National Inventors Hall of Fame and cocktail reception at the USPTO.

Tour sponsored by the University of Georgia.

Cocktail Reception sponsored by Smith & Hopen.

6-7 pm- USPTO Reception

The newest Fellows Plaque, listing the 2022 Class, will be unveiled and added to the NAI exhibit at the USPTO in an event. Derrick Brent, Deputy Director of the USPTO, to preside.

USPTO Fellow Plaque sponsored by Florida International University.


Monday, June 26th

7:30-8:45 am- Welcome Breakfast

Breakfast sponsored by University of Houston.

7:45- 8:45 am- VPR Breakfast

By invitation only.

9-9:15 am- Welcome Remarks

Paul Sanberg, FNAI, and Elizabeth Dougherty welcome attendees to NAI’s 13th Annual Meeting.


9:15-9:45 am- Keynote Speaker: John Burke

Keynote speech by John Burke.

Topic TBA.

9:45-10:30 am- Innovation Panel: HUBS Panel

This panel discussion centers on NSF I-Corp Hubs and how they are facilitating innovation across the nation.

Moderated by Wade Fulghum. Panelists include Pamela McCauley, David Grewell, Charleson Bell and Latane E. Brackett.


Sponsored by NC State.


10:30-10:40 am- Break

10:40 – 11:15 am- Fellows Panel

NAI Fellows discuss the commercialization journey in the patenting process. 


Moderated by Guochuan Emil Tsai. Panelists include Robert Prud’homme, Robert Anderson, Peixuan Guo, and Yadong Wang.




11:15 am- 12 pm- Innovation Panel: Federal Agency Panel

This panel focuses on emerging trends and sustainability within federal agencies and organizations.


Moderated by Helena Wisniewski. Panelists include: Tanya Parypa, Anthony Tether, Sunita Satyapal, and Sean Kanuck.



12-12:50 pm-  Innovation and Inspiration Luncheon

Join us for lunch and to connect with fellow attendees.

1:00-1:30 pm- Speaker: Ganapati D.Yadav

Presentation by Ganapati D. Yadav, FNAI


1:30- 2:15 pm- Innovation Panel: Policy Panel

This panel discusses the need for a national innovation policy, the role universities should play and more.


Moderated by Suzanne Harrison. Panelists include Daniel Correa, Sally Benson, and Kate Hudson.


2:15-2:30 pm- Break

Sponsored by UConn Health.

2:30- 3:15 pm- Senior Vice Presidents of Research and Innovation Panel

VPRs share how they are accelerating translational research and the impact it has on diverse communities.


Moderated by Sylvia Thomas. Panelists include Calum Drummond, Bernard Pragash Arulanandam, Mladen Vouk, and Jeanette Wing.



3:15-4 pm- Next Generation Panel: Finding and Growing the Next Generation of Inventors

This panel discussion focuses on the importance of mentorship in the innovation space and how todays inventors can guide tomorrow’s inventors.


Moderated by James Howard. Panelists include Jeanne Sinquefield and Phoebe Miles.

4- 6 pm- Next Generation Student Showcase 

Following the Next Generation Panel, join us as student inventors and researchers showcase their innovations in the connection space.

Sponsored by The Florida High Tech Corridor.

4- 6pm Connection Space with Cocktail Reception

6-7 pm- Senior Member Induction Ceremony

Join us in welcoming the 2023 Class of Senior Members to the National Academy of Inventors.


Paul Sanberg of NAI and Derrick Brent of the USPTO to preside.

7- 7:45 pm- Senior Member Reception

Celebrate the newest NAI Senior Class with us at the following reception


Tuesday, June 27th

7:30- 8:45 am- Keynote Breakfast

Breakfast featuring Keynote speaker Stephen Klasko


9-9:05 am- Morning Remarks

9:05- 9:45 am- Innovation Panel: Quantum Panel

This panel discussing centers on how best to build a quantum ecosystem of research institutions, government agencies, industry partners, innovative startups, and more.

Moderated by Darryll Pines. Panelists include Laurie Locascio, Christopher R. Monroe, and Jacob Taylor.

Sponsored by University of Maryland – College Park.

9:45- 10:25 am- Federal Funding Panel

The panel will discuss traditional, non-traditional, federal, and private funding sources to support entrepreneurs in transitioning their inventions from the laboratory to the marketplace


Moderated by Almesha Campbell. Panelists include Chaitan Baru, Alison Evans, Marc Singer, and Arti Santhanam.

10:25-10:35 am- Break

10:35- 11:15 am- Tech Transfer Panel

The panel will discuss the value, role, and impact of innovation and invention in university culture, and the strengths, challenges, and best practices of academic invention and industry engagement.

Moderated by Stephen Susalka. Panelists include Kenneth Porter, Stephen Nappi, James Lillard, and Tatiana Litvin-Vechnyak.


11:15 am- 12 pm- President’s Panel

This panel will examine the role of universities in driving the regional, state, and national economy.


Moderated by Paul Sohl. Panelists include Rhea Law, Teik Lim, Randy Woodson, Marc Christensen, and Moez Limayem.



12-12:20 pm- Lunch

12:20- 12:50 pm- State of the Academy

State of the Academy address delivered by Paul Sanberg.

1- 1:45 pm- Keynote: Sethuraman Panchanathan

Keynote Speech by Sethuraman Panchanathan of NSF.

1:45- 2:30 pm- Higher Education Fireside Chat

This discussion evaluates the strengths, challenges, value, and impact of academic invention.

Moderated by Cameron Smith. Speakers include Barbara Snyder and Mark Becker.

Sponsored by Texas Tech University.

2:30- 3:25 pm- Innovation Panel: Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Belonging Discussion with USPTO

This panel discussion focuses on expanding access and engagement with historically underserved communities.


Moderated by Kathi Vidal. Panelists include Karen Burg, Almesha Campbell, Robert Duncan, and Lateef Mtima.


Sponsored by Tufts University.

3:25- 3:30 pm- Closing Remarks

6- 7:30 pm- Fellows Induction Ceremony

Join us in welcoming the Fellows Class of 2022 to the National Academy of Inventors

Kathi Vidal of the USPTO and Paul Sanberg of NAI will be presiding over the event.

7:30- 8:30 pm- Cocktail Hour

8:30- 10:30 pm- Signature Gala