National Academy of Inventors®: Honoring Academic Invention


About Our Fellows

The NAI Fellows Program has 414 Fellows worldwide representing more than 150 prestigious universities and governmental and non-profit research institutions. Collectively, the Fellows hold nearly 14,000 issued U.S. patents.

With the induction of the 2014 class, there are now 61 presidents and senior leadership of research universities and non-profit research institutes, 212 members of the other National Academies (NAS, NAE, IOM), 22 inductees of the National Inventors Hall of Fame, 16 recipients of the U.S. National Medal of Technology and Innovation, 10 recipients of the U.S. National Medal of Science, 21 Nobel Laureates, 11 Lemelson-MIT prize recipients, 112 AAAS Fellows, and 62 IEEE Fellows, among other awards and distinctions. 

View Full List of Fellows

About the NAI Fellows Program

Election to NAI Fellow status is a high professional distinction accorded to academic inventors who have demonstrated a highly prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development, and the welfare of society.

Nominees must be a named inventor on at least one patent issued by the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) and must be affiliated with a university, nonprofit research institute or other academic entity.

Academic inventors and innovators elected to the rank of NAI Fellow are nominated by their peers for outstanding contributions to innovation in areas such as patents and licensing, innovative discovery and technology, significant impact on society, and support and enhancement of innovation.

The nomination packets are reviewed by the NAI Fellows Selection Committee. The number of Fellows elected each year is dependent on the quality of the nominations submitted. Committee members may not vote on a nominee from their institution. Decisions of the Selection Committee are final. If a nominee is not elected to Fellow status, he or she may be nominated and selected at a future time.

Continue to Nomination Criteria